Roll of Honour

At the annual Buffet/Dance/Presentation Evening on Saturday 23rd January all outstanding trophies were awarded for 2009.

All full results are elsewhere in the website so this is just a resum'e.

Tony Trembirth Award.          Richard Hyde

E.R.I.C. Trophy                      Richard Hyde

Road Championship
Senior Men                            Matty Brennan
Men 50 - 59                           Brian Goodall
Men over 60                          Maurice Davey

Tony Trembirth Award 2009

Each year all club members are invited to vote for a member of the club who, in their opinion, has contributed or enhanced the well being of the club or perhaps has completed some monumental task during the year.


The very popular winner, this year, was RICHARD HYDE.

Calling all 10 minute milers!

Hi, my name is Karen and I'm a member of the club but I rarely attend on a Wednesday night as being a mere 10 minute miler I worry about slowing others down.  I can run a bit faster than that but you know what I mean!

I am hoping to find others who run at my pace but who would like to improve, so we can meet up on club night for a run.

So, whether you're an existing member, or would like to join the club, please get in touch if you would like to run with me.

My email address is karenjhodgson @ (please remove spaces around the @).

2009 Fell Champs Final Results

The final scores for the Fell Champs of 2009 are now in the "Championships" Section. The editor delayed putting these in to allow for the usual complaints etc. from certain members of the Fell Running Fraternity!

Well done to Richard Hyde for winning both categories with commiserations to Matty for coming second in yet another club competition! (Rumour has it that Richard only won because he took part in most events!!!). One supposes that is the way it should be ... If you don't take part you can't win!

Santa Lights Run

Many thanks to all who braved the snowy weather for our annual jog round Long Eaton and Sandiacre to see the Christmas Lights on Wednesday 23rd. Everyone managed to get round in one piece!!

An excellent buffet was neatly laid out by Shirley, Melanie and others which was very welcome after "ploughing" through the snow.

The recipients of the two automatic entries for The London Marathon were Simon Pitts and Andy Clayton ... We are sure they will do us proud!!

E.R.I.C. Trophy

The very deserving winner of this year's E.R.I.C. Trophy was Richard Hyde.

Not only did he take part in most events this year he also had time to create our new website AND create most of the reports (others take note!!!)

He also (after considerable stress!!) organised a very good barn dance.

Full results HERE

Four Seasons Outdoors in Belper

There is now a quality outdoor clothing and equipment shop in Belper.  Four Seasons Outdoors ( has a good range of top brands for walkers, runners and cyclists.  They also have a stock of climbing equipment.

If you're on your way to the Peak District and need some last minute kit, this is the perfect place to stop off and stock up.

Barn dance photos

The club barn dance on Saturday September 5th was a great success.  Thanks to everyone who attended and helped prove that runners can't dance!

Slightly blurred photographs below... they must have been moving too fast.

Handicap Race 2009

Congratulations to Andy Clayton for winning this year's handicap, you will most probably be a marked man from now on!!!

It must be noted that Andy could possibly have won by default ... Both favourites to win did not heed the warnings and therefore paid the price of not reconnoitring the route beforehand and ran a bit further than they needed to !!!!!

We shall not mention Maurice falling over and , therefore, hindering his chance of winning!

Pairs 2009

An excellent turnout of 28 runners competed in some or all of the four races this year.
Again, it was a very close run thing with JEFF GIFFORD pipping Maurice Davey by just One Point!
The breakdown of races were:

  3 runners completed    l 4 races.
  6 runners completed      3 races
  9 runners completed      2 races.
10 runners completed      1 race.

Membership Cards

This year's cards are now in the process of being issued by England Athletics.
If you don't receive yours within the next couple of weeks please mention to a committee member.
Please remember:-

1.   More entry forms require your membership number ... no number no race discount!!

2.   Many sports shops give discounts on production of this card.


This Email was received from "UP AND RUNNING" shop in Nottingham and it was deemed prudent to bring it to everones attention.


As you know Up & Running gives 10% discount to members of running clubs.
We would like to continue offering this service to your members and hope
that you can help us.

XC Champs for 2008/09


And the winners are ..........................

Ladies      Caroline Wickham

Younger Division    Craig Trembirth

Older Division        Steve Wickham

Special mention to Caroline Wickham and Nigel Starr for competing in all rounds of the competition this season.

Digital photo frame

The club has purchased a digital photo frame.  Brian will bring this up on a Wednesday night for anyone to show photos old or new.

Photos need to be on a JPG supported memory card up to 2GB type XD, SD, MS, MMC and USB.


George & Anne get Tony Trembirth award

Congratulations to George and Anne Brownhill for being awarded the Tony Trembirth award for 2008.

What can be said about this pair?

Total dedication to the club.  I think they come every week.

Keeping the web site up to date with stories, photos, results, news.

Performing such feats as walking the Pennine Way, only to turn around and walk it back again.

Fell Championship 2008

Congratulations to Richard Hyde on winning not only the Overall Title but the Handicap Section as well.  (The editor does not want to comment on the rumours circulating re bribery, cheating, manipulation, nobbling etc !!!)


All results are in the RESULTS section.

Road Championship 2008

Congratulations to the category winners in this inaugeral ... Hopefully this event will become a permanent fixture in our calendar.

Senior Lady       ... Maria Kerr
Ladies over 40  ... Sue Baker

Senior Men       ... Craig Trembirth
Men 50 - 59      ... Brian Goodall
Men over 60     ... Maurice Davey

Full results are in the RESULTS section