Pairs championship

The Pairs championship is a 4 race series over the summer held on our normal Wednesday club nights. There will be 3 Pairs and 1 Handicap race. Your best 3 scores from the 4 races will be counted. The races are set up with built in handicap’s so anybody could win. The point of this? GLORY!!!!....and a big trophy.

Race to be run over the normal handicap course. HERE (6mile loop over our fields, the faster you are the further you'll run and the less the slower runner has to cover)
All entrants will be listed according to ability. (Fastest first – Slowest last)
Pairings will be decided as follows:-
Fastest runner paired with slowest runner, Second fastest runner paired with second slowest runner and so on.
All runners will set off at the same time.  The faster runner in each pairing will run in the normal direction (anti clockwise) and carry a baton.
The slower runner in each pairing will run in the opposite direction (clockwise).
When pairs meet up the baton must be passed to the slower runner. Both runners then turn round and run back the way they came.
The first complete team (not necessarily together!!) to cross the finishing line will win that night’s race.

Handicap at The Navigation (Navigation Inn, Risley Lane, Derby DE72 3BP.)

Its a race where anybody could win. The faster you are the bigger the handicap you'll receive (time handicap, not something more sinister). Best performance on the night will take the points

Points will be awarded for each element like this:-
Assuming there are 24 competitors in the first race then the winner will receive 24 points, second 24 and so on down to 1.

The first team back will receive a point for each team they beat so in this example 24 people = 12 teams, therefore the winning team receive 12 points, the second team will receive 11 points etc.

When all 4 elements are complete the Champion will be the person accumulating the most points.


09/05/2018PAIRS Round1Club House
18/07/2018MysteryNavigation Inn, Breaston. (somewhere mysterious)
15/08/2018PAIRS Round2Club House
05/09/2018HandicapNavigation Inn, Breaston. (the 'Run' Route)


*Due to the mass DQ's in the mystery race if you were there you have been awarded a sympathy 25 points in the champs scores. 

Overall Standings 

And the winner is....MATTY...congratulations. Thankyou to everybody for playing, maybe next year the trophy will be yours. 2018 however belongs to Matty who edged out Caroline with his high scoring Handicap performance. He joins the exclusive list of people who have their names on the trophy twice.

Current Standings. Champs Points awarded calculated by: Your Score from the race / Max score possible in that race x100  = Champs score. Best 3 Champs scores will be summned for Total Champs score
Max Score33244227  
 Pairs R1Mystery. 18th JulyPairs R2. 15th AugHandicap 5th SeptTotal 
NameRace ScoreChamps ScoreRace ScoreChamps ScoreRace ScoreChamps ScoreRace ScoreChamps ScoreTotal ChampsDIFF FROM LEADER
Matty Brennan3193.9400.003890.482488.89273.300.00
Caroline Wickham3296.9724100.002764.2900.00261.26-12.05
Julian Brealey927.2700.003480.952592.59200.82-72.49
Maurice Davey3296.9700.003890.4800.00187.45-85.86
Paul Boothroyd2678.791225.0000.002281.48185.27-88.04
Patrick Noonan1854.551225.004197.6200.00177.16-96.14
Frances Wadelin00.001225.002150.002385.19160.19-113.12
sarah halford618.1800.002764.292074.07156.54-116.76
Rachel Lee2781.8200.0000.001762.96144.78-128.52
richard kerry2369.701225.00819.051348.15142.85-130.46
Jane Harris2163.6400.0000.001866.67130.30-143.00
John Wadelin2987.881225.0000.00414.81127.69-145.61
Bob Browne1339.391225.002047.62933.33120.35-152.96
Tom Stokes1442.4200.003276.1900.00118.61-154.69
Lisa Rull2266.6700.001740.4827.41114.55-158.75
stephanie kern1751.521225.0000.001037.04113.55-159.75
Neil Roberts39.0900.001126.192177.78113.06-160.25
Steve Wickham00.002395.83511.9000.00107.74-165.57
Xavi Allueva26.0600.0042100.0000.00106.06-167.24
Kevin Roughton00.001225.003480.9500.00105.95-167.35
Les Witten824.241225.0000.001555.56104.80-168.51
Gary Newham1236.361225.001842.8600.00104.22-169.08
Stuart Whittaker00.001225.003378.5700.00103.57-169.73
Richard Hyde      2696.3096.30-177.01
Catherine Eden618.181225.0000.001451.8595.03-178.27
Simon Lewis00.001225.0049.521659.2693.78-179.52
Amie Batchelor-Watkins2163.6400.0000.00725.9389.56-183.74
Nicola Photiou1339.391225.00921.43518.5285.82-187.48
George Brownhill00.0000.003276.1900.0076.19-197.11
Louise Marson00.001225.002047.6200.0072.62-200.69
Laura Hatswell      1970.3770.37-202.93
Ian Macnamee00.0000.002969.0500.0069.05-204.26
Colin Lewis00.001225.00614.29622.2261.51-211.80
Dennis Parker00.001225.001228.5700.0053.57-219.73
James Fisher00.0000.002252.3800.0052.38-220.92
Helen stout00.0000.002150.0000.0050.00-223.30
Craig Salvidge      1244.4444.44-228.86
Philip Shearing      1140.7440.74-232.56
helen lowe-geary      829.6329.63-243.67
Nick Lander00.0000.001228.5700.0028.57-244.73
Jane Harlow      311.1111.11-262.19
Craig Trembirth00.0000.0037.1400.007.14-266.16
Clare Williams      13.703.70-269.60

 Roll of honour - previous winners



2018Matty Brennan
2017Paul Boothroyd
2016Tom Stokes


Sue Baker

2014Paul Boothroyd


John Wadelin


John Wadelin


Matty Brennan


Kevin Roughton/Neil Weightman


Jeff Gifford


Melanie Brennan